top of page
  • Writer's pictureKimberly Mitchell

"Holi celebrates spring with people of all colors" - A reflection

Updated: Dec 13, 2018

On March 10 I assisted fellow staff writer for Scot Scoop, Nisha Marino as a photographer at the Foster City Holi Festival.


Prior to the festivities, I spent hours preparing my camera as I knew that the colored powder that is thrown can severely damage a camera. In addition to the risk of damaging my camera from the powder, the weather report also predicted a chance of rain. However my determination led me to attend the festival anyway.


Once I arrived, I immediately realized that photographing this event would be most challenging yet.


My original plan was to keep as much as a distance as possible from the festival goers, but as the powder becan to cloud up the air around us I decided to take yet another risk and move closer.




Soon after, I realized that taking that risk was the best decision I made in my year as a journalist.


Being closer towards the action, I was able to see and feel the love and joy surrounding me as parents and siblings smeared color across their faces and children chased each other throughout the event.


A mother and child share a moment as they celebrate Holi in Foster City on March 10. As revelers throwed and smeared brightly colored powder onto each other, they commemorated the beginning of spring, the harvest, and the triumph of good versus evil.

As I searched through the crowds I found myself witnessing precious moments such as the one shown above. Though at the time, I could not tell if my camera was in focus or if the lighting was too dark, as soon as I say the smile on the mothers face I knew that even if the photo composition my not be ideal, the quality of the photo would be unforgettable for me as it captured a moment so beautiful yet simple at the same time.


As I became more comfortable, I decided to challenge myself as a photographer and work on my techniques in several action shots.



Though the shots I took up close were the most terrifying for me at first, once I came home and began editing the photos I was shocked by how beautiful they turned out immediately overwhelmed with pride.


In the days following the publication of this article, I received an overwhelming amount of praise from my fellow staff writers at ScotScoop, my by journalism adviser, and most of all my sister who I greatly admire as a photographer.


Just a few months later, the photo of the two boys chasing each-other won me the highest title for first-year photo in the JEA/NSPA national journalism competition.


 

To read the full article by Nisha Marino and learn more about my photos click here

 




12 views0 comments
bottom of page